What do people need to cook healthy meals?

I have spent a lot of time working on recipes.  I pride myself on being able to convert a “regular” recipe into a healthy one and making meals under 30 minutes.  However, I have come to realize that I could have millions of recipes but getting people to actually use them is the challenge.  Some people are just so intimidated of cooking, so unmotivated to cook, or just plain don’t want to.  My new focus is on preparing short how-to videos on HOW to cook, not what to cook.  Seeing someone do it is often much easier than reading it on the page.  I hope to have about 100 videos in the next couple of months. 

Rather than have them look like something from the Food Network, I have decided that if I want to get them done, I will have to fit the filming into my regular life.  Therefore, the kids, their friends, the dog, the phone, the doorbell, etc.  all make appearances.  I don’t dress up, I don’t put on extra make-up, I just keep the camera set up in the kitchen and hit record.  Hey, this is real life, right?  I think it is important that people can relate.  I know when I watch some of the cooking shows, I think to myself, they have a studio, hundreds of people working for them, no kids, no distractions- must be nice.  What I want to show is that healthy eating IS possible even for crazy busy people.  It’s not hard, it doesn’t take forever, it can please all family members, and it can be fun.  Even though I have to get over the fact that I think I look like a big dork…my goal is to help other people get in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

