A new motivation

So it seems I am constantly reminded that my choice to become educated on nutrition and switch from a business carrer was destined.  It has come to pass that my family is facing by far the biggest challenge to date.  My mom, whose symptoms have progressed at an unbelievably rapid pace over the past 2 years, has become a full-fledged victim of Alzheimer’s disease. 

Let’s just say that of all of the diseases out there…this is the one I was most fearful of.  It is a cruel disease that steals lives and leaves a devastating path of destruction.   I could go on and on about how our lives have changed but instead, I will just make a couple fo key points.

In the beginning, I found myself worrying about this being in my genes.  Am I destined for this horrible path as well?  Then I have to remind myself of my husbands’s words.  “genetics are like the trigger to a gun, they only go of when they are pulled.”  In other words, you may be more susceptibile but it IS NOT a given.  As far as genetics are concerned, if you have some disease or ailment that runs in your family, you better do everything in your power to avoid it.  Throwing your hands up in the air is not an option!

So as it is with the twists and turns in our lives, I am now faced with putting all I have learned to the test.  I have to save my own life.  I better be eating well, exercising my body, exercising my brain, reducing my stress, eliminating toxins (namely mercury-that’s for another post), and just plain say committed to my health!  I WILL NOT let this disease get me. 

There are so many tangents I could go on here with regards to her illness and illnesses alltogether, after all, that is what my husband and my business is.  However, I will try to keep this blog more specific to nutrition.  For whomever may read this, please, please, please get committed to your own health.  No one is going to do it for you and it’s much harder to reverse disease than to prevent it.  If you aren’t going to do it for yourself, do it for the people who love you.  I would give anything for my mom not to have this stupid disease right now.  If only we would have known more about how to avoid it earlier. 

It is your responsibility to customize your own health plan.  Blue Cross Blue Shield, Aetna, United Heatlthcare, etc. is not your health plan- that is your sick plan!  (I stole that line from my husband as well!)  If you think for one second your insurance plan or your md for that matter are going to give you a complete plan for your specific nutritional, exercise, stress, time management, etc. you are fooling yourself! 

Get to the store, get in the kitchen, sit down with your family, and nourish your body!

Leave a Reply

